Why do they bother

Discussion in 'Sports Board' started by gipper, Oct 25, 2008.

  1. gipper

    gipper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    16,497
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    The Villages, FL
    To have replay, that is. I'm watching the M-MSU game. Michigan's first touchdown was on a pass that was caught and the receiver never came down in bounds. While he was in the air, his foot hit the side of the pylon on the goal line but both feet clearly come down out of bounds. The replay official rules it a TD. If it had been a running play, the runner would have scored but the first rule of deciding a TD pass has to be if it was a catch in bounds. This game looks like it may be decided by one score. MSU got really screwed.
     
  2. Terry O'Keefe

    Terry O'Keefe Well-Known Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    63,917
    Likes Received:
    1,771
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Looks like it didn't make any difference. It seems to me like it's a pure rules deal. I don't know what the rule is in that instance. I do know that if the player is in the air out of bounds but some how gets the ball over the pylon that it's a TD. So the pylon is inbounds and part of the goal line. What I don't know of course is if you come down on the pylon with one foot are you in or out of bounds? Has to be a rule that covers that.
     
  3. Scott88

    Scott88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    8,165
    Likes Received:
    570
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    I could NOT believe that call.
    I know the rules of catches and the pylon are a little vague, but geez, the kid NEVER had the ball on the playing field.

    Glad it didn't make a difference to the outcome.
     
  4. gipper

    gipper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    16,497
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    The Villages, FL
    From the NCAA rules

    <<<Any>>>
    Now how in hell did that replay official rule that a receiver who is an ariborn player and hits the pylon is in bounds?
    OK I give up. Why did my past of the NCAA rules not appear?
    Any forward pass is incomplete if the ball is out of bounds by
    rule or if it touches the ground when not firmly controlled by a player. It also is
    incomplete when a player leaves his feet and receives the pass but first lands on
    or outside a boundary line, unless his progress has been stopped in the field of
    play or end zone (Rule 4-1-3-p) (A.R. 2-2-7-III and A.R. 7-3-7-I).
     
  5. Gator Bill

    Gator Bill Well-Known Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    17,819
    Likes Received:
    400
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Franklin NC
    I didn't see it, but I sure remember the so called fumble of Chris Leak against Auburn in 2006 and still wonder to this day how that was anything but an incomplete pass.

    Another one that I saw in person a week ago with Florida and LSU. We scored to make it 20 - 0 near the end of the half. On the kickoff our kicker kicked it toward the sidelines and the LSU player caught the ball with his first foot in bounds and the second foot came down out of bounds. I thought the rule was like catching a pass and that they would get the ball there. But after review it was awarded to LSU at the 40 as the rule was interpreted as both feet had to be in bounds on the kickoff.

    One of the games I watched this weekend the announcers were saying how well the review system was working.
     
  6. Motorcity Gator

    Motorcity Gator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 1999
    Messages:
    17,521
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Florida
    Ooooh...just had to didn't ya Bill..... :twisted: :evil:

    On the LSU kick-off I was very livid when I saw it at the game but someone explained the rule when I watched a TV replay later and it still didn't make sense but it was some kind of rule that meant the right call was made. Can't see it myself.....that rule needs changing.
     
  7. Scott88

    Scott88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    8,165
    Likes Received:
    570
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    gip
    They totally blew that call.
    The one thing that is consistent about receiving is: you gotta get one foot DOWN.
    Hitting the pylon, even if you interpret that as being within the field of play is not the same as getting that foot DOWN!
    Idiots...



    RE: the kickoff call.

    One of my freshman fielded a kickoff earlier this year with one foot in, and one out.

    We got the ball at the 4 yard line, so the Big 12 refs didn't agree with yours on that one!

    :x
     
  8. IrishCorey

    IrishCorey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    11,697
    Likes Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hartselle, Alabama
    Not that anyone would be surprised by this but the Pac10 replay crew blew one last night in the Arizona USC game.

    The USC RB was on his ass with his back to the end zone, before lunging backward into the endzone. Even Petros Papadakis (king of USC homers) thought it wasn't a TD... How they took a 2nd look at that and....wait, no.. it's the Pac10, nothing surprises me.

    We've now replaced the SEC as the king of garbage officials though.
     
  9. gipper

    gipper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    16,497
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    The Villages, FL
    I tried to post this last night about the pylon. It's from the NCAA football rules
    Player Out of Bounds
    ARTICLE 1. a. A player or an airborne player is out of bounds when any
    part of his person touches anything, other than another player or game
    official, on or outside a boundary line (A.R. 4-2-1-I and II).
    RULE 4-2 / BAL IN PLAY , DEAD BAL, OUT OF BOUNDS FR -81
    b. A player or an airborne player who touches a pylon is out of bounds.
     
  10. Sid

    Sid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    16,269
    Likes Received:
    769
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Fishers
    The Big 10 commissioner, Jim Delaney, has stated publicly and emphatically that the replay official who overturned the on-field call was wrong and that there may be disciplinary measures. He said that the reply official applied the wrong rule. He said that any discipline would not be made public.
     
  11. Terry O'Keefe

    Terry O'Keefe Well-Known Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    63,917
    Likes Received:
    1,771
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Colleges need to do something with regard to officals. The game is too big and there is too much money involved not to do a better job. The replay officals esp seem to not really know what to do. It would be tempting to say we need full time officals, but even the NFL doesn't have that so what we need is more and better training for officals and maybe a better recruiting program to attract more guys who played the game and maybe who are younger with better vision and more athletic so they can stay up with the flow of the game.
     
  12. gipper

    gipper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    16,497
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    The Villages, FL
    Here's a link to Sid's comment.
    http://www.mlive.com/wolverines/football/index.ssf/2008/10/big_ten_commissioner_delany_sa.html
    The really sad part about this incident is that the officials on the field, knew the rules and made the right call. They were overruled by someone in the booth that had plenty of time to look at what happened but didn't know the rule or applied the wrong one. As I wrote to start this thread..
    WHY BOTHER?[/code]