Question for you lawyers out there

Discussion in 'The Back Room' started by IrishCorey, Sep 27, 2016.

1. IrishCorey

IrishCorey Well-Known Member

If you had to do it all over again, or advise a youngster of today:

-Would you go pre-Law before going to Law school, or would you choose another major and try to get into Law school without the rigor of pre-Law?

-Tell me about Missouri Law school. Carson has started receiving stuff for football and wrestling. He received a big packet from Missouri and since his interests are Law/Communications, he received a small bible from Missou Law.

2. gipper

gipper Well-Known Member

I have no idea exactly what is part of the pre-law curriculum. Law school is quite a different adventure than undergrad. I was a liberal arts student majoring in history. I was always interested in history and in some ways it touches on the evolution of the law. I know business majors that became tax lawyers and engineers who became patent lawyers. I'd recommend that he concentrate in an area he has an interest to make undergrad as enjoyable as possible. I don't think I know any really successful lawyers who majored in pre-law in undergrad.

3. Bobdawolverweasel

Bobdawolverweasel Well-Known Member

Corey, I would advise any young person to do some really really vigorous research on the subjects of the cost of law school and the job market for recent law school grads before applying to law school. Right now, the job market for young attorneys is poor. There are simply too few job openings for the multitude of grads churned out by law schools and horror stories are abundant of recent grads with huge debt being only able to find temp employment.