Unusual MLB Triple Play by Stu's Indians

Discussion in 'Sports Board' started by Sid, Jul 2, 2014.

  1. Sid

    Sid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    16,319
    Likes Received:
    784
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Fishers
    <iframe src='http://m.mlb.com/shared/video/embed/embed.html?content_id=34223663&topic_id=6479266&width=400&height=224&property=mlb' width='400' height='224' frameborder='0'>Your browser does not support iframes.</iframe>
     
  2. JO'Co

    JO'Co Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    16,690
    Likes Received:
    322
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Apple Valley, CA
    :roll:

    He was safe at 2nd base...
     
  3. WSU1996kesley

    WSU1996kesley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 1999
    Messages:
    4,061
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Texas
    If the runner at second had touched the base with his fingers, he'd have been safe. Since he lifted them and caught the base with his palms, the tag was able to get him in that extra second.
     
  4. Sid

    Sid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    16,319
    Likes Received:
    784
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Fishers
    After watching it a few times, I have to agree with Kes.
     
  5. HUSKERMAN-HUSKERFAN

    HUSKERMAN-HUSKERFAN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Messages:
    11,937
    Likes Received:
    416
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    40º 86' N, 96º 68' W
  6. Stu Ryckman

    Stu Ryckman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 1999
    Messages:
    8,155
    Likes Received:
    592
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mansfield, OH
    Nope.

    Heh, heh...he might have gotten his hand in before the tag...but he was out...when you're called out and replayed out...yer out!

    What's remarkable is surviving two replays...one from each team...and one upheld and the other overturned.

    I think it was a 10-3 game...didn't matter much.
     
  7. Terry O'Keefe

    Terry O'Keefe Well-Known Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    64,077
    Likes Received:
    1,792
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    He was out, Kes was on the money.
     
  8. Terry O'Keefe

    Terry O'Keefe Well-Known Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    64,077
    Likes Received:
    1,792
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    The Cards had an unusual play ... Pirate pitcher squares to bunt, 3rd baseman comes in as does 1st baseman, SS covers 3rd and 2nd base covers 1st base....all normal. Except Holiday lets the pop up bunt hit the dirt and throws to 2nd ...whooooops he forgot there was no 2nd baseman. Fortuneately the CF was coming in and caught the ball and forced the runner out at 2nd.

    BTW...isn't this an Infield Fly rule anyway?

    http://mlb.mlb.com/news/article/mlb/heads-up-cardinals-record-5-8-forceout-vs-pirates?ymd=20140711&content_id=84147000&vkey=news_mlb
     
  9. Sid

    Sid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    16,319
    Likes Received:
    784
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Fishers
    Good question, Terry. I don't think so because the bunt forces the play as opposed to the opportunity to let a pop fly drop in order to force the lead runner and set up a possible double play. That's what the infield fly rule is designed to prevent. There's no time to "scheme" on a bunt play.

    I read about that 5 to 8 force out. According to what I read, that play may never have been duplicated in the history of the game.
     
  10. Terry O'Keefe

    Terry O'Keefe Well-Known Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    64,077
    Likes Received:
    1,792
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I guess it gets down to the difference between a popup off a bunt, and a full swing popup flyball. Clearly that's what Holiday was thinking in letting it hit the ground going to 2nd to no doubt start a double play.
     
  11. HUSKERMAN-HUSKERFAN

    HUSKERMAN-HUSKERFAN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Messages:
    11,937
    Likes Received:
    416
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    40º 86' N, 96º 68' W
    Ok, even if he forgot the wheel play was in effect....he still had time to stop look and realize that he had probably hung up the runner on 2nd, which was what his intentions were, and then go to 3rd and then 2nd for the double play. They fact that he didn't rememebr that a bunt cannot be counted as IFR on the play, and the bad throw just shows it was a comedy of errors.....